Dallas Intoxication Assault Defense Attorney
Let Our Firm Protect Your Rights & Future
When a drunk driver causes a traffic collision that results in another person suffering a serious injury, he/she could be charged with intoxication assault in Texas. Whether an intoxicated individual was operating a car, truck, boat, or aircraft, he/she can be charged with intoxication assault if they cause harm while operating the vehicle.
If you or a loved one has been accused of intoxication assault, our legal team at Scott H. Palmer, P.C. can do our best to help you avoid serious criminal penalties. Our Dallas intoxication assault defense lawyers can conduct a thorough investigation of the accident, collect evidence to determine fault or if law enforcement officials violated your rights, and build a strong and effective defense plan to either get your charges or penalties reduced or get a case dismissal.
The following are the benefits of hiring our firm:
- Nearly 45 years of combined experience
- Led by a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist
- Our legal team has a former prosecutor
- Successfully handled hundreds of cases in state and federal courts
Call (214) 891-3382 to schedule a confidential consultation.
Texas Intoxication Assault Laws
In order to be intoxicated in Texas, a person must have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of at least .08 percent. To be charged with intoxication assault, not only must the prosecution prove that a driver’s intoxication and behavior caused a crash that led to another individual’s injury, but they must also prove that the other person sustained “serious bodily injury.”
Serious bodily injury is defined as an injury that creates a significant risk of death or results in impairment or loss of a bodily function or organ, or permanent disfigurement. It doesn’t matter if the serious injury was caused by negligence or intent, a drunk driver can still face an intoxication assault charge.
Texas Intoxication Assault Penalties
Intoxication assault is a third-degree felony. A conviction carries a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a maximum $10,000 fine.
However, if the offense caused brain damage or left another person in a vegetative state, or the accident involved a police officer, firefighter, or emergency medical personnel, intoxication assault is charged as a second-degree felony. A conviction is punishable by a maximum 20-year prison term and a fine of up to $10,000.
Call (214) 891-3382 to Discuss Your Case Today
Our Dallas intoxication assault defense lawyers can evaluate your case and determine all your available legal options to get the most favorable outcome. We are ready to fight for you throughout the complex legal process.
Contact us today for more information about our experienced legal services.