Dallas Felony DWI Lawyer
DWI Charged as a Felony in Texas
Although a Texas DWI is often charged as a misdemeanor, there are several circumstances where a person can face a felony charge--even for a first-time offense. A felony DWI is punishable by fines worth tens of thousands of dollars, a lengthy driver’s license suspension period, and even imprisonment. To avoid serious criminal penalties, it is in your best interest to hire a skilled felony DWI lawyer immediately for your defense.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a felony DWI in Dallas, Scott H. Palmer, P.C. can protect your rights and freedom. Attorney Scott Palmer is a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, a distinguishment earned by only five percent of all lawyers in the state. For more than two decades, he has successfully handled hundreds of criminal cases, including various DWI charges.
Contact us today to schedule a confidential consultation.
Can DWI Be a Felony in Texas?
Although DWIs are more often than not charged as misdemeanors, this does not mean that every DWI case will be a misdemeanor, especially if aggravating circumstances exist. Under Texas state law, drivers can be charged with felony DWI in certain cases.
As with any felony, these charges should be taken very seriously, as they can pose minimum terms of imprisonment, lengthy driver’s license suspension or revocation, years of probation, a loss of civil rights, and the many long-term challenges that come with having a felony on one’s criminal record. Felonies are the most serious offense level in Texas.
Texas Felony DWI Penalties
While a first and second DWI offenses are misdemeanors, a third DWI offense is a felony. A conviction for a third DWI carries the following:
- a maximum 10-year prison term
- a fine no more than $10,000
- driver’s license suspension for up to two years
- an annual fee of up to $2,000 to maintain your driver’s license
When Does DWI Become a Felony?
Under Texas law, the following are other types of felony DWI offenses:
- Third DWI offense – In Texas, a third DWI is a 3rd Degree Felony. There is a time frame for multiple offenses and our team can help you understand how it may play a role in your case. Typically, drivers facing charges for a third DWI face penalties that include 2 to 10 years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, loss of driver’s license for 2 years, annual license fees, lengthy probation, and more.
- DWI with child passenger – Texas makes it a felony offense to drive while intoxicated with a child passenger under the age of 15. DWI with child endangerment is a state jail felony, and it carries penalties that include terms of imprisonment in a state jail between 180 days to 2 years, fines up to $10,000, license penalties, lengthy probation, and other repercussions.
- DWI causing injury – If your DWI arrest involved an accident that resulted in another person suffering a serious injury, it is considered a third-degree felony. Known as intoxication assault, this crime is punishable by 2 to 10 years imprisonment, up to $10,000 in fines, license penalties, mandatory community service, probation, and more.
- DWI causing death – If your DWI arrest involved an accident that resulted in another person’s death, it is considered a second-degree felony. Referred to as intoxication homicide or intoxication manslaughter, this offense poses serious and life-altering penalties. Legal representation is essential in these cases.
Defense for Felony DWI Offenses in Texas
Due to the severity of the criminal penalties you face, our Dallas felony DWI attorney can help you either get your charges or penalties reduced or get your entire case dismissed. We can investigate your arrest, obtain and assess evidence, and develop an effective and personalized defense strategy to get the best possible outcome.
Call (214) 891-3382 to discuss your drunk driving case with our Dallas felony DWI lawyer today.