Drug Possession Success Starts with the Right Team

Dallas Drug Possession Attorneys

Texas Drug Possession Laws

Texas has harsh drug possession laws. Although some offenses may be charged as misdemeanors, many others are considered felonies. This means that if you've been charged and are subsequently convicted, you could face years of incarceration and/or steep fines. Additionally, you'll have a permanent criminal record, which can make it difficult for you to live your life as you once did. Finding a job, getting financial aid for school, or even finding a home could be challenging. To avoid or minimize the effects of a conviction, you need to aggressively fight your charges with the help of an experienced lawyer.

At Scott H. Palmer, P.C., our Dallas drug possession lawyers have over 98 years of collective experience, and we are skilled at building effective defense strategies for drug possession charges. Two members of our team are former prosecutors, who offer unique insights into how the other side thinks and develops cases. Additionally, Attorney Scott Palmer is a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. When you hire us, you'll benefit from our range of knowledge, skills, and resources, as we provide personalized attention while working together as a team to fight your charges and seek a favorable outcome on your behalf.

Learn more about our strategic approach to cases and how we can provide the defense you need by calling our Dallas drug possession attorney at (214) 891-3382 today.

Possession of Controlled Substances in Texas

An individual can be charged with possession of a controlled substance if they knowingly or intentionally possess a substance found in one of the 6 Penalty Groups under Texas Health and Safety code sections 481.115 through 481.118.

Texas Drug Penalty Groups

  • Penalty Group 1 Drugs
  • Penalty Group 1A Drugs
  • Penalty Group 2 Drugs
  • Penalty Group 2A Drugs
  • Penalty Group 3 Drugs
  • Penalty Group 4 Drugs
  • Possession of Marijuana

Texas Drug Possession Penalties

Texas divides controlled substances into 6 penalty groups. The level of charge and potential conviction penalties depend on which penalty group the drug is classified under and the amount of the drug. The charges can range from Class B misdemeanors to first-degree felonies.

In Texas, the penalties for the drug possession charges include:

  • Class B misdemeanors: up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,000
  • Class A misdemeanors: up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000
  • State jail felonies: up to 2 years in state jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000
  • Third-degree felonies: up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000
  • Second-degree felonies: up to 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000
  • First-degree felonies: up to 99 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000

Texas Group 1 Drug Possession Penalties

This group contains opiates, opium derivatives, methamphetamine, ketamine, and PCP, among others.

Charges for possession of Penalty Group 1 drug include:

  • State jail felony for less than 1 gram
  • Third-degree felony for 1 to 4 grams
  • Second-degree felony for 4 to 200 grams
  • First-degree felony for 200 to 400 grams
  • If the amount of the substance was 400 grams or more, the offense is punishable by 10 to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000

Texas Group 1A Drug Possession Penalties

LSD is the only drug included in this penalty group.

The following are the charges:

  • State jail felony for possession of fewer than 20 units
  • Third-degree felony for 20 to 80 units
  • Second-degree felony for 80 to 4,000 units
  • First-degree felony for 4,000 to 8,000 units
  • If the amount was 8,000 units or more, the penalties include up to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $250,000

Texas Group 2 Drug Possession Penalties

Included in this group are hallucinogenics, phenylacetone, depressants and stimulants, and 2-aminopropanal compounds.

An accusation could lead to the following charges:

  • State jail felony for less than 1 gram
  • Third-degree felony for 1 to 4 grams
  • Second-degree felony for 4 to 400 grams
  • For possession of more than 400 grams, the penalties include 5 to 99 years in prison and up to $50,000 in fines

Texas Group 2A Drug Possession Penalties

Compounds that mimic the effects of cannabinoids are included in this group.

Charges include:

  • Class B misdemeanor for 2 ounces or less
  • Class A misdemeanor for 2 to 4 ounces
  • State jail felony for 4 ounces to 5 pounds
  • Third-degree felony for 5 to 50 pounds
  • Second-degree felony for 50 to 2,000 pounds
  • Possession over 2,000 pounds can lead to 5 to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000

Texas Group 3 Drug Possession Penalties

Substances listed in this penalty group are mainly prescription medications, such as Ritalin, Preludin, Xanax, codeine, and morphine. These are drugs that contain stimulants, depressants, and narcotics.

The charges include:

  • Class A misdemeanor for less than 28 grams
  • Third-degree felony for 28 to 200 grams
  • Second-degree felony for 200 to 400 grams
  • If the offense involved possession of more than 400 grams, it's penalized by 5 to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000

Texas Group 4 Drug Possession Penalties

This penalty group includes substances containing narcotics in limited quantities, Buprenorphine or Butorphanol, or Pyrovalerone.

Possession of these substances can result in the following charges:

  • Class B misdemeanor for less than 28 grams
  • Third-degree felony for 28 to 200 grams
  • Second-degree felony for 200 to 400 grams
  • Possession of 400 grams or more is punishable by 5 to 99 years in prison and up to $50,000 in fines

Possession of Marijuana Penalties in TX

Possession of marijuana charges are different from those in the penalty groups listed above.

They are as follows:

  • Class B misdemeanor for 2 ounces or less
  • Class A misdemeanor for 2 to 4 ounces
  • State jail felony for 4 ounces to 5 pounds
  • Third-degree felony for 5 to 50 pounds
  • Second-degree felony for 50 pounds to 2,000 pounds
  • Possession of more than 2,000 pounds is punishable by 5 to 99 years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000

The Defense You Need for Drug Possession Cases

Are you facing drug possession charges in Dallas? Our team at Scott H. Palmer, P.C. can deliver effective defense and solid guidance throughout your case.

Get started by calling our Dallas drug possession lawyer at (214) 891-3382 or contacting us online.

Your Criminal Defense Team

Put a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist on Your Side
/

Awards Won by Our Criminal Defense Team

  • Super Lawyers
  • Avvo 10.0
  • Avvo Client Choice
  • Super Lawyers Rising Stars
  • The National Trial Lawyers Top 40
  • National Trial Lawyers
  • American Association for Justice
  • AV rated by Martindale-Hubbell
  • Best Dallas Lawyers
  • Texas Board Certified

Recent Criminal Defense Results

Never Giving Up. Always Fighting for the Best Possible Outcome.
  • Murder Verdict Reversed
  • Continuous Sexual Assault of a Child Verdict Reformed to Lesser Offense
  • Drug Possession Case Dismissed
  • Indecent Exposure Removed Client from Registry
  • Failure to Pay Sales Tax Case Settled
  • Murder Verdict Reversed
/

Why We're the Right Choice

Giving You the Best Chance to Win
  • Award-Winning Team of Attorneys
  • Over 98 Years of Combined Experience
  • Former Prosecutor
  • Board Certified Attorneys in Criminal Defense, Family Law & Personal Injury
  • Multiple Attorneys Dedicated to Your Case
  • Featured in the Media as a Trusted Legal Source

¡CONTÁCTENOS HOY!

NUESTROS ABOGADOS ESTÁN 
LISTOS PARA AYUDARLE
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.